April 14, 2006

  • will someone pass me a tissue?

    Edit:I
    finally got the picture to attach so I thought I would let everyone
    take a peak.  The text is the same though, so if you read it
    yesterday skip it today.  
    Now I
    feel like I can start pick out pictures to post.  Tell me if you
    think I should make them bigger or smaller would you?  Also you
    can click on the picture to make it bigger than what's in the blog.

    We had the best time in Rome.  We got back to the apt. at about
    4am Mon. morning and literally fell into bed.  When we woke up
    about noon Mon. it felt like I had tried to swallow a live coal and the
    thing got stuck halfway down my throat.  My nose was running like
    a sieve and my head was throbbing with every heartbeat,  all my
    muscles felt like they had been pounded with a meat mallet.  It
    was bizarre.  I'm just so very grateful that it didn't ruin our
    trip.  So for the last couple of days I have been in bed
    recovering from the lightning cold virus from hell.  I feel really
    bad too because I was probably contagious the whole time
    I was in Rome and didn't know it which means that soon it will not only
    be all over Rome courtesy of our tour guide but it will also be in
    Kentucky and New York City.  Sorry!!!  This is why I wash my
    hands so often!!  Not that it did me any good since my husband
    thinks he's the one that gave it to me in the first place.  But
    seriously I find it very weird that I felt fine up until we got
    home,  my immune system has perfect timing. 

    I
    have started the slow wade thru of pictures.  I took 390......umm
    yeah!  So there's bound to be at least 10 or 12 worth
    sharing. 

    One
    of my favorite pictures so far was my first glimpse of St.Peter's thru
    the window of the vatican museum.  We had come in from the metro
    and hadn't seen anything but the entrance to the museum and the all of
    a sudden you go around a corner and there it is out the window. 
    WOW!  I wanted to post it today so you could at least see one but
    once again my picture editor isn't working.  I've tried attaching
    it a half dozen times and it won't show. So sorry. 

    We got lucky on a couple things.  The first one was going when we
    did.  One week after the huge memorial for Pope John-Paul II and
    one week before Easter Sunday.  We were there on Palm Sunday and
    the National elections which was bad enough but a week earlier or later
    ..... we were told the crowds were ten times worse, that 250,000 people
    came for the memorial. And Easter at the Vatican!  I can't even
    imagine!  But we had great timing crowd wise.  After Easter
    and it starts getting to hot and even more crowded, and in Feb. many
    things are still on Winter hours and it's rainy.
    The weather was perfect in Rome.  When we left Germany it was 9C (48.2F)
    and raining.  In Italy it was 19C (66F) then it got to about 21C (69.8F) and sunny.  THE SUN! 
    You just have no idea!  For three days I walked around with my
    face turned up. (yes, I had sunscreen.)  When we landed at
    Midnight Mon. it was 4C (39F) and yup! Raining! and its been raining ever
    since and the temp has not gone over 9C.  This Spring is going to
    eventually be gorgeous, I can't imagine all the flowers that will bloom
    thanks to all the rain, but meantime I'm losing my mind.  I can
    still feel the warmth sitting on the colosseum.  (I still can't
    believe I sat in the colosseum.)  It was Sunday, our last day in
    Rome and I was draggin' butt from all the running around we had done
    for the past three days.  There was a ledge and I just sat myself
    down.  At first people just stared but then this old lady sat next
    to me and in about 2 minutes the whole ledge was full of groaning
    women.  Believe me those warm rocks felt like the most comfy couch
    ever.  I would have sat there a whole lot longer too except our
    guide was getting to far ahead and I didn't want to totally lose the
    guy. 

    More about Rome later.
    Time for another nap.  lol, maybe I'm turning into a cat.
    I'll keep trying to figure out why my pictures won't attach.      If anyone knows what's going on will you drop me a line. 

April 4, 2006

  • Friday Mike showed up.  That was really cool for me because ever
    since the %#&* company my husband works for transfered my shopping
    partner 2 hours west things haven't been the same.  Funny thing
    is, the company never asks me what I want.(bastages)   I've been
    lobbying to get
    him back ever since the transfer....rofl.  It's hard losing your
    best shopping partner.  Just ask Bear man, now he has to take me
    and he does but its just not as much fun when you know someone is just
    going thru the motions and is faking an enthusiasm for yarn or whatever
    has caught my fancy.   So Sat. we went off to Rothenburg
    for the Spring Fest and the rain actually stayed mostly away.  It
    was one of those Spring days that if it started sprinkling we only had
    to wait about five minutes and it quit.  Then it was sunny
    again.  I think I popped open the umbrella about 4 times, and put
    on and took off my coat about 8 times.  It's the first time I've
    ever lived in a place where the cliche "Don't like the weather? 
    Wait ten minutes."  is really true.  I've heard that all my
    life but this April in Germany it's really true.  So while I was
    in Rothenburg I got the flowers for my man.   One for each
    year.  12 roses and a mixture of tulips and  daffodils for
    the other
    12.  For some reason this is the only picture I took and its not
    very good, oh well.

    So I brought the flowers in and he was surprised and I think secretly
    pleased.  Guys like flowers too, whether they would actually buy
    them for themselves is another thing.  Me, I'll buy myself
    flowers.  Maybe I should say I buy them for the house.  Nah,
    they're for me, they just brighten the house up.  But these
    flowers we're for him and I think he liked them.  Mike had invited
    us out to dinner to celebrate our anniversary and when he came and
    picked us up I was still getting ready so I wasn't in the room but I
    could hear them talking about them.  Or me as it turned out.
    Mike: "So we're you surprised?"
    Bear:  "yeah, but they're okay."
    Mike: "I thought she should have went all roses."
    Bear:  "If you think all 24 year were rosy....well let's just say
    we had our daffodil years too. This is a good mix, not all red but not
    all yellow and orange either. Some roses, tulips, daffodils yeah a good mix."
    Mike: "Never is all roses is it?"
    Bear:  "Nope, but wouldn't that be dull."
    Mike: "She's not dull, that's for sure."
    Bear: "I'll say! but I wouldn't have it any other way."
    pause.....
    Bear: "Are you about done in there?  I'm starving!"  and that
    was that, hmm.  Makes me wonder what they talked about all those
    months they carpooled.

    Since I was done and basically just being nosy by then, I came out and we left.  We went to Burg Colmberg.
    It was SO wonderful.  This was taken from the castle wall.  Looking toward home.

    If you go straight across the fields for about 15 miles you'll run
    smack into our town.  We went to late to get really good pictures
    so click on the red link up there.  This is the place that I wanted to
    go at Christmas and we didn't.  I got so ticked off about that one
    that when we were eating supper and it was casually mentioned, I flared
    up again
    Bear said "Geez, Liz just go get a room."  But you know since he's
    taking me to Rome on Friday I thought that would be a bit much, and
    since he only said it to shut me up,  I will allow that maybe its
    time to let that one die.  Spoiled much?

    This was the first time I've ever eaten in a castle and unless he has
    another life I don't know about,  it was a first for my husband
    too.  Castles are smoky.  Those big fireplaces, the ones big
    enough to roast a whole ox in....they're smoky.  Luckily the
    ceilings are pretty high and I've had wood heat in my house for years
    so we're pretty used to the smell of wood smoke.  There was a
    renaissance party there
    at the same time so that was cool.  The clothes were
    fantastic.  Every little detail perfect from the lace caps to the
    shoes.  And you could tell these people were there for the
    atmosphere and were ready to party.  The tables and such were
    pretty normal for every German restaurant I've ever been in so nothing
    cool about that.  But 2 foot thick rock walls and arched doorways,
    lead glass windows and a beamed ceiling that looked like it was cut
    from an old growth forest, that is unusual.   When the three
    of us go out to eat we order three different things.  That's so we
    can share or at least get a nibble.  So we got Beef steak with
    bacon and mushroom wrap, Pork tips in pepper sauce and Veal strips in
    cream sauce.  three different potato's too.  Can you say we
    ate it ALL.  It was so yummy that there wasn't one scrap left
    anywhere.  And then to top it all off we got three different
    deserts too.  We never get desert but it was our special dinner.
    (I went to the gym twice already this week and plan on going back
    tomorrow) We got apple strudel, homemade vanilla ice cream with hot
    raspberry sauce and we got a dish of vanilla with chocolate whiskey
    sauce.  Nobody shared....rofl.  It was one bite of each
    persons and then hands off its mine.  I had the raspberries, so
    bloody good I could cry.  So that was our anniversary and dinner
    thanks to Mike's surprise trip back.  And we weren't going to do
    anything.  Glad he came home. 

    We leave for Frankfurt Thursday evening and fly to Italy on Friday
    morning.  I have a feeling we're going to feel like cattle on this
    plane, but I would rather spend the money in Rome than on the airline
    seat.  So I will put up with a lot of discomfort for a cheap
    ticket.  Don't know if I'll get the chance to go around and say
    bye before we go so if I don't here's an Auf Wiedersehn, Arrivederci,
    Goodbye. 

March 31, 2006

  • Holy shmoly!

    In exactly one week I'll be 45.  But its all good because in
    exactly one week I will be in Rome with my husband.  I am so
    excited that last night laying in bed I caught myself making lists in
    my head. 

    extra memory card for camera...check
    extra battery for same...check
    battery charger...check
    dork in bed with light out and no pen or paper....check!

    So also in current news, my anniversary is Sunday.  24
    years.  I know certain people who read me aren't even 24 years
    old...lol.  It's very weird being married this long because on a
    day to day basis I don't even think about how long I've been
    married.  I'm to busy doing the daily job of living.  Then we
    both forgot about it because we're busy planning this 4 day weekend to
    Rome.  And all of a sudden there it is in my face.....one of the
    reasons for going to Rome.  I've been married over half my
    life.   My sister called me last week and in the course of
    conversation she asked me how long we had been married and when I told
    her all she said was "holy shit that's a long time."  Then it
    dawned on me it really is.  No one in my immediate family has been
    married longer except our parents who divorced after 28 years. 
    And they would have divorced earlier except mom waited until we were
    mostly grown out of a fear dad would kidnap us. (that's a different
    tale, for a different day) suffice it to say it wouldn't have gone
    anywhere near 28 years if moi hadn't made a surprise arrival 5 years
    after my nearest sister.  I am the only one in my family that
    hasn't been married twice or more.  So I consider myself damn
    lucky.  I should have bought a lottery ticket the day I met Bear
    man.  If only I had known.  The fates should have been
    singing a hallelujah chorus or something else equally attention
    getting.  But NO instead I get an ordinary work day and an
    ordinary meeting....sheesh. 

    So anyway I got to thinking that I should get something for the man
    even though this trip is anniv/b-day rolled into one.   I
    wracked my brain for a time, (about 2 mins.) and came up with
    flowers.  I never buy him flowers and he and I both love
    flowers.  Especially after a long Winter of shades in gray and
    white.  My thought is this, he would rather eat my cooking than go
    out.  I cook almost ever day so nothing really special about even
    the most "special meal".  He doesn't need any more junk.  He
    doesn't have a desk for a pen set or blotter or other businessy
    things.  He wouldn't be caught dead in a tie and he doesn't wear
    cologne.  That pretty much leaves washing his car for him or
    flowers.  and the flowers won out over the manual labor.  See
    how unromantic you can get after 24 years.  Of course we've never
    been the "all romance" channel anyway.  More like the "Do It Yourself"
    channel.  But it seems to be working so let's not mess with a good
    thing.  We love each other and after 24 years the shiny newness
    might have worn off but the good solid craftmanship still
    remains.  And really is there a better gift than that?

    Liz and Bear on a park bench.  Ochsenfurt, Germany. Summer 2005

    Someday I want to be one of those little
    old couples that you see now and again.  They are walking
    somewhere, holding hands and you think how sweet.  I figure were
    only about 26 years from there, so its totally doable.  And what
    fun and adventure will we have in the next 26 years.  Life's
    exciting isn't it? 
    Gotta run.  Hope everyone has a great
    weekend! 

March 20, 2006

  •   Today is the Vernal Equinox, while I would love to run outside
    and celebrate, since its only 41 degrees I think I'll refrain, I might
    slip on the ice.  Luckily it's all melting under the brilliant
    sunshine we have today and, despite the temperature and the brisk
    wind accompanying it, it really does feel like Spring.  I thought it
    felt like Spring yesterday too.  We went down to the lake and
    walked around it, its that small.(Bear man says it's an overgrown
    pond.)  The ice is very thin and though the ducks could stand on
    it I doubt it would hold the weight of the swans.  So here I was
    in my heavy Winter coat, leather gloves and scarf on head but I still
    thought it felt like Spring.  It was more than just the sunshine
    it must be an internal clock. 

March 16, 2006

  • About three weeks ago I was thinking about our anniversary and my
    birthday.  Both of which are in the first week of April.  And
    I thought hmm, April in Paris.  But that didn't last more than a
    thought because as romantic as it sounds April in Paris is mostly rainy
    and cold.  If I want cold I'll stay right where I am, but the
    cheap ticket on ryanair were calling me....loudly and my feet are
    really itchy after this never-ending Winter.  Then my Bear man
    said Rome would be warmer.  Hah! That'll teach him to speak
    without thinking.  So guess who's going to ROME?  I booked
    the Bed and Breakfast and the cheap flight on Mon.  I have the
    tour guide picked out and all we have to do is settle on an
    itinerary.  If you have to turn 45 might as well do it in
    Rome. 

    If your wondering what's paying for this little trip I'll tell you
    because I'm actually very proud of it.  Remember I quit smoking a
    little over 6 months ago and Bear man quit just over 2 months
    ago.  Well every night I put either a 2 eu or a 1 eu coin in my
    old purple ashtray.  If I have both I put in both.  It's
    added up in a hurry even though its not really as much money as we
    spent smoking.  Isn't that amazing.  Not only do we get all
    the benefits of not smoking we get to go to Rome, Italy.  Now
    that's what I call a reward. 

    Bear man doesn't know this but as soon as we get back I'm going to
    start saving for our 25th anniversary......I'm thinking Greece........

March 10, 2006

  • When your in deep trouble, say nothing,
     and try to look like you know what your doing.


March 9, 2006

  • w00t!

    I was finally able to get my old version editor back.  Who says
    bitching doesn't help?  If I hadn't I never would have got an
    answer. w00t! happy girl!

    So here's pictures like I promised.  If you want to you can skip
    the pics and just go to the bottom for my latest entry for the "idiot
    of the year" award.  I bet it would draw more viewers than the
    Oscars.

    We
    went over to Speyer a while back and went to the sister museum of
    Sinsheim.  This Volkswagon was evidently made for weddings and was extremely
    popular in its day.  After I got to looking at it I thought well
    why not?  After all the body of a vehicles is just a shell to
    cover the engine and other working parts and a crash bubble.  So
    if your not to worried about safety or getting bugs in your eyes then
    why not cover it in wrought iron?

    Wouldn't that make a conversation piece at the wedding?

    Every time I walk under a plane or submarine or whatever else they have
    decided to display 50 feet off the ground I am convinced that it has
    waited years just to fall on my head.  Now logically I know this
    plane and the other hundreds of things that are suspended will not
    fall.  But isn't an irrational fear by its very nature
    irrational?  And its not like I duck and run, it just makes me a
    tad uncomfortable to walk under what I consider to be an inadequate
    display stand.

    Now
    here's a car I would like to get behind the wheel of, can
    you imagine?  I bet this will move on down the road and it would
    probably feel like driving a smooth running tank.  lol. 
    These always put me in the mind of a big Hollywood thirties era
    movie.    The glamour years.

    Now isn't this interesting?

    Okay I'm done this is just a fluff filler, so don't feel real bad about
    thinking or even saying what the hell?  It's the tail end of
    Winter and it's snowed every single day for the last 2 weeks.  I
    haven't got  much going on here and am getting VERY ready for
    Spring. 

    Oh!  I do have another entrant for idiot of the year awards.

    I went online and ordered some scrapbooking supplies, this was
    Feb.24th.    The company sent a further Email that my
    order had been shipped on Feb 27th (Mon) and should arrive in 4 to 10
    business days.  So I quickly counted and thought cool it should be
    at the post office.  Specially since 9 of those days are postal
    working days.  Ha!  It wasn't there.  Now since there
    have been a lot of times that I have thought a package should be here
    and it's arrived a week or so later than it should I finally decided to
    ask.
    Me:  Excuse me.  Does the army stack packages somewhere until they have enough to ship over from the states?
    postal worker:  NO! Why on Earth would they do that?
    Me:  Well my package should have arrived by now but I thought if they stack them well it might take longer.
    p.w.:  Did it ship priority mail?
    Me: I have no idea.
    p.w:  Ah, well then there you go.  It could take 4 to 8 weeks then.
    Me:  4 TO 8 WEEKS!!! 
    p.w.  Well sure, see what they do is they all get sent to N.Y. and
    put in a shipping container. When the container is full they send it
    over.
    Me:  So they do stack them.
    p.w. Now why would they stack them?  They send 'em over one at a time.
    Me:  Not the containers, the packages inside the containers. 
    You just said they wait until they have a full container.  So if
    my package is the very first one into the container its going to take a
    lot longer than it would if it was the last one into the container.
    Right?
    p.w. Ma'am, I have no idea what you just said.
    Me: 
    Me:  That's okay, it will get here when it gets here.
    p.w.  Now that's a fine attitude ma'am, you have a nice day.

    A German General said of the American Army during his debriefing after WWII
    "The reasons the American Army does so well in wartime, is that war is
    chaos, and the American Army practices it on a daily basis."

    amen brother, I hear you. 

March 6, 2006

  • Fookin' new editor. (look Kat a title, bwahaha)

    Contrary to popular opinion I'm still not dead.  I just hate this
    new editor.  Mine is not working properly and for some reason I
    can't switch back to the old one.   My biggest gripe is I
    know it will do no good to write one of the guys eg; Marc, John etc
    because I'm sure their Email as well as comment boxes are
    flooded.  By the time they separate the wheat from the chaff in
    their comments all the problems should be resolved. (crossing toes and
    fingers)  I hate it when I go to one of their sites and there is
    almost a thousand comments of this type....."sweet" "wow" "2propz
    dude"   How is a legitimate concern going to be heard. 
    My very favorite was this one "i just felt
    like commenting you..because, well my stomach hurts. <3" 
    Okaaaay, whatever.  There are many that do address the problems
    with the editor.  For instance in the first 50 comments alone
    there were 6 or 8 that said "slow to load" or variations of,  so I
    imagine if that hold true for the entire 900 some comments poor Marc
    has been told that the new editor is slow to load about 50 to 75
    times.  I never thought he was stupid so he probaly already knew
    that it was slow to load, after all he did type his own blog entry on
    (gasp) the new editor.  I really wish they would run 2 comment
    boards for all new content, one for general props and one for
    complaint/suggestions.  And I would also say its always a good
    idea to read thru some of the previous comments to see if your concern
    has already been addressed.  I read about  200 comments and
    found a very well written comment about the very same problems I'm
    having, so I didn't need to leave my 2propz dude to clutter thing up
    even further.  okay, I'm done ranting about something you guys
    could probably care less about.
    But I will be glad when this thing is fixed.  There will be no pictures until it is and I'm getting tired of waiting.

February 23, 2006

  • I think my insurance agent is on drugs.  Now before you say I'm being judgemental let me relate the following.

    Yesterday I got a letter from her that had been sent on Feb 7th. She
    had put the wrong zip code on it so it was no surprise that it took two
    full weeks to get here.  What was surprising was the contents.
    Here is a verbatim quote of the body of the letter.....

    We have received notification from our underwriter at Argenia that you
    will need to sign an updated application.  The application is
    enclosed.  We will need a response to this letter by February 9,
    2006.  If you have any questions, feel free to call me at the
    number listed above.

    Umm, yeah first question:   Are you on drugs?  Second
    question:    In what alternate universe do you live that the
    U.S. Postal service is able to deliver anything from Arkansas to
    Germany and back to Arkansas in 2 days?  Even with a correct Zip
    code?  Because Yo!  We all need to move there.  And
    question three:  What application?  There was no enclosed
    application.

    So I did what any polite person would do, I called my husband laughed
    at her like a loon and then wrote the following Email because its free
    and fast and guaranteed to get there same day.

    We received your letter dated February 7, today, February 22,
    2006.  In
    it you request that we sign an updated application (which was not
    enclosed) and respond by February 9, 2006.  Even if the letter had
    gone to the correct address and contained the application it would
    still take longer than 2 days to get from ?.?.? Arkansas to Illesheim,
    Germany and then back to you again.   I am sorry we can't
    move as quickly as you require.  Can you please send the
    application to this correct address.  CMR ??? Box ??? APO AE.
    ?????.  It normally takes a first class letter 7 to 10 days to
    reach us from the U.S.   Sorry for any inconveniences this
    may cause.
    (Which is code for, plan ahead you dummy. and why did I apologise, grrr? Oh yeah, to be polite.)

    Okay, this morning there are three Emails back.  2 are nothing
    but attached paper work the third is more paper work with this little
    gem attached:
    Again, all I'm doing is copy and pasting her words with her typing,
    nothing is changed by me except the address to protect privacy.

    PLEASE FILL OUT THE ENCLOSED APPLICATION AND MAIL
    TO P O BOX ?? SOMEWHEREIN, AR ?????.
    I AM ALSO EMAILING THE TERRORISM FORM FOR YOU TO
    SIGN AND MAIL BACK.
     
    IF YOU SHOULD HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PEASE LET ME
    KNOW.
     
    THANK YOU,

    First off, pease quit yelling at me, it's impolite.
    Second, what you really mean is you can't be bothered to print out
    megabytes of crap, stick it in an envelope and correctly address it,
    because you screwed up the first time and are now faced with a deadline
    that can't be met unless I do your work for you.
    Third, Are you on drugs?

    Now I know that I make punctuation, grammar, spelling and other English
    horror mistakes.  But I'm NOT in business for myself.  I'm
    not even in business period.  I do however expect a certain level
    of professionalism from people that I do business with and I will be
    looking for a more competent insurance agent.  Sloppy, sloppy Ms.
    insurance lady.  If you do this what other mistakes are you making
    that could cost me?

    Oh and P.S. Ms. insurance lady.  I can't print your applications
    out because my printer just ran out of ink and the first opportunity I
    will have to replace my American ink cartridges is when I drive 45
    minutes North to the nearest Army post that carries them.  Also,
    my husband is 2 hours West of here Mon. thru Fri. so even if I could
    print them we can't both sign them until Friday night, which means the
    absolute earliest these will be mailed back to you is Monday the
    27th.  And yo, my policy had better not cancel because YOU didn't
    allow proper time for an international client.  If you can't
    handle us then you shouldn't have agreed to represent us.

    .

February 21, 2006

  • To my unhappy friend.

    I remembered a quote I had heard a long time ago and then re-read just
    the other day. It goes like this.  "The most important thing a
    father can do for his children is love their mother." Theodore Hesburgh
    said it.  He should have maybe said also "the reverse is true for
    mothers". I said that, but I'm sure its nothing someone smarter hasn't
    said before and I don't expect the encyclopedia to start quoting me
    now.   There are all kinds of things implied in that quote
    that aren't said, such as in
    this deep love he feels for  the mother of his children will be
    respect, understanding,  kindness,  tolerance,  empathy, support,
    etc.   Lots of virtues that people now want from others but
    aren't willing to share of themselves.  It is also implied that
    these things that are in
    this love felt for mom will also be felt exponentially towards the
    kids.  Yes, Mr. Hesburgh in an ideal world.  I think June
    Cleaver had it in spades.  Ward was quite the man wasn't he? 

    I read it all the time right here in these pages the disrespect said
    publicly toward ones spouse and it confuses me because I have such a
    deep respect and love for my own husband.  I have some of these
    virtues so tied up in my head that I'm not really sure where one starts
    and one ends.  But I have always wondered at the reasons a person
    would or could stay with another person that they did not
    respect or love.  Some of it I'm sure is just blowing off steam and some
    of it I am equally sure is downright unhappiness.  But in the 24
    years I've been married I know you "reap what you sow".  How can you plant peas and expect watermelon to grow?
     I
    also know that what you focus on is what is important to you.  So
    if you don't show and focus on the virtues that you want to see in your
    relationships then after awhile you won't have them, a relationship
    survives on positive reenforcement and can founder on negativity. And
    you may
    find yourself looking back and wondering what you ever saw in this man
    or woman  And honestly everyone around you will wonder the same
    thing because all they ever hear you say sbout your spouse is negative
    and then we wonder why such a smart, fun bright person is tied to such
    a toad.