September 30, 2007

  • the phone, me, and reaching out...

    We have what I consider a really good international phone plan.  We pick any three countries in the world and we can call any land line in that country for 2.9 cents a minute. Not bad eh? However, if we call a cell phone its .29 cents a minute, so we really try to avoid cell phones.   I try not to get to crazy regardless of the good price, especially with the bad exchange rate but yesterday turned into "reach out and touch someone" day.

    I called my mama first but didn't get an answer.

    So next was my best friend from 7th grade.   T and I met the second day our family moved into town and we became so close that people thought we were sisters.  We've never lost touch and we are still each others biggest supporter thru thick and thin.  We haven't seen each other since her and her daughters drove from Tennessee to my youngest daughters wedding which was 06/05/04 making it a date even mom can remember without to much trouble.  When she found out I'm heading home in Oct for a visit she immediately started planning on taking a Friday off from school and driving over to see me for a weekend.  She's a third grade teacher and she adores her students so I feel special that she's contemplating turning "her" kids over to a sub just so we can stay up all night laughing and talking. (Funny how teachers get about their kids)

    Then I tried to call Cassie. She's my neighbor with cancer. No answer, I felt a bit of panic but calmed myself down because there's all kinds of reasons the phone might not be answered. So I reasoned with myself and figured I'd just keep trying and not worry. Though I have to be honest and admit that when my mom didn't answer her phone I wasn't worried, I was irritated. That shows the difference in my thinking when someone is terminal. Moms' NOT sick so it's "answer the phone mom", Cassie is, so it's "Oh God please, I hope everything is okay".

    Next up mom, again.  She answered and we had a really great visit. She's planning on loading up her car and driving to see us too.  With flight time, layovers, and driving time from airport to home we'll be traveling about 20 hours which coincidentally is about how long it will take my 77 year old mom to drive from Arizona to Arkansas.    It's a little over 1300 miles from her house to ours and while I wish she would fly she doesn't want to leave her puppies.  Darn stubborn old lady. She did say she was breaking it up into two days of travel so that's good.

    The next call was to my Aunt Pearl, she called us when mom was up in Oregon a couple of weeks ago and I got to talk to all three of the crazy sisters. At the time she was having several "good" days in a row and you could tell and we had a really wonderful visit.  So I figured I better call her since mom said that she only has a couple of weeks to a couple of months left on this Earth.  Uncle Ernie told me she was asleep but he said if she woke up and found out I had called and he didn't wake her up she'd kill him.  She wasn't having a good day but she was so happy that I had called. She said that her pain meds are keeping her out of pain and that the process of dying was boring. I asked her why her kids weren't there to read to her or watch T.V. with her and she said she didn't want to bother them. I don't know my Oregon cousins well but let me tell you if my mama had terminal stomach cancer they would have to pry me from her side with a crowbar.  But I don't walk in their shoes so maybe they are doing exactly as much as they are able, emotionally and physically.  Also I know that the meds are messing with her at least some because she told me she hadn't talked to my mama since she left and I had just talked to mom and she told me she calls at least every third day, so maybe Aunt Pearl doesn't remember.   We didn't cry as much this time so maybe we are both getting more used to the idea that everytime we talk it might be the last time.  The hardest was when she asked if we were coming to Oregon. I didn't have the heart to tell her that while we are coming home to Arkansas there's no way we can also fly out to Oregon too.

    Here's a question for you. What would you say if every single time you talked to someone it could be the last time?  I'll call her again next Sat. and that conversation could once again be our last. Or there's a possibility that last nights conversation was our last, because the truth is she's on borrowed time.

    I tried Cassie again.  I was in the process of leaving a message on their answering machine when Pete picked up. They were outside and hadn't heard the phone.  Pete gave me the latest prognosis. She has two separate types of cancer and while treating the cancer in her glands the more agressive tumor in her lung grew from 3cm to 9cm and the biggest tumor in her groin grew from 2 cm to 7cm. she was given a few weeks to a few months. (Deja Vu)  I choked down the lump in my throat and when Pete gave the phone to her she was sitting in the sunshine of an early fall day with her daughter Kit Kat and enjoying a beautiful day. She was having a great day despite Fridays bad news and we talked for over a half hour.  I again asked her if she wanted me to come home early and again she said she would wait for me.  She doesn't want either of us to see or hear her like she is now but she told me these three years without us was all she could handle and she wanted to see us one more time before she went. We've known each other for 15 years and one way or another we will handle it and we will give our dear, dear friend and neighbor what she wants. We've been thru so much with each other and it just  hurts that one of the most generous and kind people I know has to go this way.  (Last week the call was not as energetic or pain free)

    Now you might think that after talking to my Aunt Pearl and Cassie I was really down and depressed but I'm just so grateful every single time I get to talk to them and tell them how much they have meant to me. I try to tell each of them a new thing that I remember that they did or said that touched my life or changed me in a positive way. I try to mail both of them a little card each week so that they know I really am thinking about them and really do care.  I try to make them laugh with some goofy thing we did together or in Aunt Pearls' case, caught me doing as a child.  I try to bring a little bit of positive into this horribly negative situation.  And above all I try to keep in the fore front of my brain that this isn't about me and I need to be strong for these strong women. They aren't dead yet and it would be foolish and demean them both if all I focus on was their imminant demise instead of the life they still have to live.  So while I do cry, I'm sad and that can't be helped, I also try to not taint my remaining time with them. So I don't try to make false futures of good times, I try to help both of them remember all the people they have helped and touched over the years. Especially easy in these two cases since Cassie was an emergency room nurse and has helped to save countless lives over the years and so has literally affected thousands of lives. And my aunt Pearl had an open door policy at her home and kept countless people off the streets because of her generous nature. I try to not let them forget when they feel as though they are alone that they aren't and we are supporting them as much as we are able.

    To answer my own question.....

    What would you say to someone if every single time you talked to someone it could be the last time? Here's my answer.

    I Love You.

     

     

Comments (12)

  • Those are the words all right. After all, what else gives life it's true meaning? I know you must be a very bright ray of sunshine in the lives of those dear women.  I know it stinks that you can't be there, but life is what it is. We all have a ticket for that last and final ride and one day each of us has to turn it in and still, life goes on. I'm sorry you are going to lose those who are dear to you.

    On a brighter note, I imagine when your long time bestest friend comes to visit you they'll have to lock up the city!!!! hahahahahaha!!!

    Have a lovely rest of your Sunday.  

  • I so understand! I have a dear friend who refuses to get the results to his MRI back, because he just doesn't wan to know. Talking with him makes us live it to the fullest,not knowing how much time either one of us may have. I go in in about 10 days to find out the results of my spirometry test--I have to see the doctor for some reason, and I am assuming emphysema or COPD. Life is precious! Love to you.

  • I tell those people I love that I love them. All the time.

    Oh how nice that you had this massive blab fest with these very important individuals in your life.
    I hope you make it home to see Cassie, and really hug her and tell her you love her and ... say good-bye.

    I always think about the last things and the last times.

    You wrote all of this so well.
    You are a lovely friend.
    I wish I had more time for xanga.

    Happy Sunday to you

  • Yup, that is what I'd tell them. There is so much in those three little words.

    You, Dear Gal, have a great big heart too. May you be blessed by Jehovah so as to stay strong for your loved ones that are ill. They need your support.

  • I always add that in when I talk to my friends or family on the phone, for exactly that reason. I never got a chance to say goodbye to my mother, and I don't want to let that happen again.

  • I sould have read this before I messaged you.  Seeings how these might be your last few conversations with these dahlins', you will have to be strong.  But you can.  It may be heartbreaking, and you may have to fake it, but when you know how hard their struggle is..............You can do it.  You already are.

    Welcome Home !

  • That would be the best thing to say but coming from a family that never says those three words sometimes it feels unnatural, sad to say.

  • What else is there to say... It made me think but  you hit it dead on.

    Just passing through

  • Wow, what a day you had. Hmmm ... what would I say if I knew a conversation with a loved one were my last? I hope that I would be as strong as you and keep the conversation positive and focused on all of the wonderful times I shared with that person. There will be time for missing and mourning later; these moments are precious. Liz, these ladies are so fortunate to have had you in their lives; I know because I feel blessed that you are part of mine.

    Stay strong; I'm sending lots of love your way!

  • I'm so thankful for... so dependent on Skype...

    Anyway, a wonderful, touching post. and I think you say the only thing you really can...

  • having been a recipient, I can attest that you give excellent phone!

  • Well Momma, you know that I love you. I'm sorry that I'm not closer so that we could cry together. xoxox

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment