August 7, 2008

  • 3 months of mediocrity

    Look, I really am alive, I should probably change my name to lurkerlady. I’ve been around as those of you who emailed me know, I’ve even commented a couple of times….here and there.  For actual full blown participation in xanga, or anything else for that matter, I would say the score is everyone else infinity times a googleplex….indigolady 0, nada, nothing!  Even when we’ve done something that I would normally blog about I haven’t.  For instance we bought a brand new bed and I adore it. The mattress is so comfy that I can sleep all night long without waking up and in the morning I don’t spend hours trying to get the kinks out of my neck.  Or I could blog about my trip back home, the one that was supposed to be 3 weeks and ended up lasting 6 and yet I still couldn’t manage to meet up with SouthernLass, which really makes me irritated with myself.  We did talk on the phone for a few minutes, before my incredibly needy dad called me back to his side.  You know how people say the elderly revert back to childhood? My dad is now about 3 years old.  The lass and I were supposed to meet up for mexican food and margaritas and I just couldn’t seem to finish what I had to do so that I could do what I wanted to do.  The good news is that what I went for I accomplished.  In case your wondering it was so I could make decisions and purchases for our house which is being remodeled from the ground up.  As a bonus I went to 2 family get togethers and had a ball at both.  It has been 4 years since I’ve gotten to go to a family reunion and it did my soul real good to see everyone.  Now you know why I didn’t blog from May 28 to July 10th…..but what about when you got back home, you all ask????  Well, I Feng Shui’d my entire house, bought the bed talked about earlier, helped a new neighbor get settled, spent days watching “Dead Like Me” on the net and generally acted like a slug.  Oh! I also read “The Court of Air” by Stephen Hunt, “The Children of Hurin” by Christopher Tolkien, and a couple of Feng Shui books to help with getting our chi all straightened out.   We haven’t been going anywhere except places we absolutely need to, between gas prices and the ever weak dollar to euro exchange rate, just about everyone we know is staying close to home.  Here’s a perfect example of the exchange rate.

    Yesterday, Bear walked to the food court to buy a bacon/egg biscuit for break, it cost $2.50. When he went to pay he realized all he had on him was a 5 euro bill so he paid with that instead of the usual dollars. They give you your change back in dollars even when you pay in euro, so he was handed a 5 dollar bill and his biscuit.  It seemed wrong but it’s not, 5 euro is worth about $7.50 and that was a really good rate because it has been lower.  Needless to say we try not to spend much on the economy, which hurts not only all the Americans living abroad but the EU too because of lost business. Bad deal all around.  

     Bear has a dentist appointment today, he had to have a tooth pulled last week and this is a follow up.  He has bad teeth, gums and bone and it’s not from lack of dental care. His uncle was a dentist so growing up they had free dental care and then when he left home he joined the Air Force, again free dental care. The man just has bad teeth. Thank God for bridges, partials etc.  I, on the other hand have teeth like iron.  Mostly ignored growing up it wasn’t until I had kids of my own that I really started paying attention to them.  I didn’t even have a cavity until high school, I imagine if my mom had taught me what I taught my kids I never would have had cavities.  Unfortunately she had to raise 4 kids while working, 1 sometimes 2 full time jobs and I think she was just to tired to argue with a kid about brushing.  Do you sometimes let your kids do things because your to tired to argue?

    I think I’ve rambled on enough for one day. As soon as we get the other external drive hooked up I’ll post pictures of……stuff. I don’t know whether to post pictures of Holland or of my house back home or my new furniture. Which would you guys rather see first? 

    Happy Thursday!

     

Comments (15)

  • Good to see you around!

  • Happy to see you’re back 

    I’d love to see pictures of Holland. I’ve never been to Europe before.

  • Yay you’re back! And I didn’t know you know Southernlass too!

  • Happy thursday to you too!

  • Glad seeing you back! Why not just do a huge post of all the pictures?

  • Well, we wanna see both of course……..and don’t care which you post first. 

    Glad to “see”  you!

  • LOVE YOUR PROFILE PIC! hahaha

  • @chrispycrunch - Why thank you dahlin’ I always say for every true there’s a false.

  • Yay a post! Good job mom! :o ) Personally I want to see the home photos first, but really any would do! xoxo 

  • Thanks for stopping by my site and commenting today.  I just had to come by and tell you how much I love your profile pic….the FALSE cracked me up.  Good one…..

  • Ooo I don’t know, I want to see it ALL! I think hoe pictures while the visit is fresh in your mind. I’m sorry the trip took so long, but glad you got to come.

    You can ramble as long as you like! I like reading your posts even if I am late getting to the party!

    Glad your doing well!

  • Welcome back!  I’ve missed you, too! 

  • Well, it’s nice to finally see your patootie back in action around Xangaland.  I know you’ve been busy, and that’s ok. Getting important things taken care of sometimes outweighs blogging regularly. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do, right?

    Yes, unfortunately it’s true. The human mind comes full circle it seems. On a happier note, at least he’s living long enough to be three now.
    Does that make sense?

  • Hey…I’m just glad to see that I’m not the only slacker on Xanga. ;)   BTW, I have a new story called “Square One” that I don’t think you have seen.  I can send it, if you are not easily depressed or creeped out.  And the rewrite of “Stealing Arturo” is next on my list, even before writing those other new stories.

  • @twiddle38 - Yay, doing my happy dance.  Depress me, creep me out, can’t wait to read “Square One” I can take it I’m on anti-depressants!  ROFL.  Make those other stories wait their turn….. bossy ol’ muse anyway.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *